Now accepting nominations for FUN Officers and Councilors

Hello Friends!

The time to hold elections for the FUN Executive Committee is quickly approaching! Please consider nominating a friend (or yourself!) for consideration. Nominations are being accepted until August 16th for President-Elect, Secretary, and Councilors (3 positions).

Full descriptions of these positions are available online at


Responsibilities of the President-Elect include Chairing the Travel Awards Committee and Election Committee.

Responsibilities of the Secretary (two-year term) include keeping and maintaining a record of FUN committee activities including reports and proceedings of the organization. 

Responsibilities of Councilors (two-year term) includes serving on FUN committees and aiding in all activities required to support the FUN mission.

Ideal candidates for officer or councilor positions are invested in the success of the organization and committed to a collaborative system of governance. The work is engaging and at the heart of what we all try so hard to do well!

As you know, the Faculty for Undergraduate Neuroscience sponsors a number of excellent programs for its members, such as student travel awards, an equipment loan program, mentoring opportunities, and the poster session and social at the SfN meeting. FUN also provides support for JUNE and SOMAS, as well as summer workshops.  The success and growth of our organization and these programs depends on the participation of our membership, especially in leadership roles. We need energetic people who have participated in and benefited from these programs, and understand or want to learn about the importance of FUN's role in undergraduate education. 

Nominations can be sent to the current President-Elect, Jeff Smith ( Please send any questions about these positions to Jeff or any member of the Executive Committee! The window for nominations ends soon – August 16, 2013.

Hope your Summer has been productive and peaceful!


Jeffrey S. Smith, Ph.D.

President-Elect, Faculty for Undergraduate Neuroscience

The Malcolm and Lois Field Endowed Chair in Health Sciences